TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Tool Time tool review and eval area
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Small Media Blast Cabinet

Post Reply Post Reply Page  <12
Author
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Mopar_guy Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Apr/04/2015 at 9:05pm
Originally posted by PlazinJavelin PlazinJavelin wrote:

How long do those filters last? I'm thinking about updating my current ancient hepa vacuum.

I've been using the same filter for 3 years now. When it gets plugged up, I take it outside and blow it out with compressed air (with a respirator on) and it's good as new. I have the Rigid 14 gallon model. They're not cheap but they last, are quiet and work well. It pulls plenty of air for my cabinet and it's bigger than yours so no worries about not working well for you.
What the others are saying about having dry air is very true. Moisture will give you fits in that cabinet so get a decent drier. By using the aluminum oxide you'll get the job done quicker so less air used. In the end you'll love having it. With that now all you need is an Eastwood basic powder coating gun and a used toaster oven and you can powder coat all your small parts!! Wink

"Hemilina" My 1973, 5.7 Hemi swapped Javelin
AMXTSY View Drop Down
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote AMXTSY Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Apr/05/2015 at 9:35am
Over time the foam box seals will deteriorate and will start to leak. If you can apply some RTV sealer over the internal seams (much easier when the unit is still new and clean), it will save a whole lot of grief down the road. Just a thought... Bruce