TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Electrical - non engine
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Grounding issue?

Post Reply Post Reply Page  12>
Author
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amxgopack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Grounding issue?
    Posted: Jul/04/2018 at 3:57pm
Help, I am not good at wiring pr electricity, but have an issue with my 1970 AMX. It just finished getting completely restored and a Painless wiring kit installed. It looks and sounds amazing. The problem I'm having is that while driving, the tech, voltmeter and fuel gauge go to zero occasionally. It may come back when I hit a bump, but not always. It is a problem because I think my alternator actually stops charging. My car has died while driving it before and it was due to a dead battery.

Any suggestions for things I should check first? Any obvious culprits?

I took it to a shop before and they didnt see the issue. I want to drive and enjoy the car, but cant while I have this problem.

Thanks for your help!
Steve
amxgopack View Drop Down
AMC Apprentice
AMC Apprentice

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote amxgopack Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jul/04/2018 at 3:59pm
Bandana View Drop Down
AMC Nut
AMC Nut

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Bandana Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jul/04/2018 at 6:23pm
Can't help with the wiring but beautiful car! Is that the Commodore Blue?

bigbad69 View Drop Down
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote bigbad69 Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: Jul/04/2018 at 10:22pm