TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > Transmission & Drivetrain
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

High hp Manual Trans for 68 343

Post Reply Post Reply Page  123>
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote TurboSst Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: High hp Manual Trans for 68 343
    Posted: May/10/2017 at 9:07am
I have a 68 ambassador sst 343 and im going to be making about 500 horsepower and upwards of 600ftlbs for now with it and i want to take the bw 3 speed out but i have no idea what to use for a transmisson? im not putting a 727 in it with a shift kit either i like actually banging gears,cutting the tunnel hump and fabbing up a crossmember are not an issue. i would prefer a 5 or a 6 speed trans im kind of on a budget 
tufcj View Drop Down
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote tufcj Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May/10/2017 at 11:25am
Prepare to blow the budget. If you make that kind of HP/torque, you'd probably have to go with a T-56 for a 6 speed, or a TKO600 or Legend SS700 5 speed. The TKO600 is probably the cheapest at $2500, the Legend is in the $3500 range. I'm not sure what a T-56 goes for. You'll also probably need a Quick-Time bellhousing which will be another $700.

Also prepare to upgrade everything else downstream of the trans, driveshaft, axle or axle shafts, springs, etc.

Bob
tufcj
69 AMX
74 Javelin AMX
67 Rogue

If you need a tool and don't buy it...
you'll eventually pay for it...
and not have it.
Henry Ford
dltowers View Drop Down
Supporter of TheAMCForum
Supporter of TheAMCForum