TheAMCForum.com Homepage
Forum Home Forum Home > The Garage > AMC 6 Cylinder Engine Repair and Modifications
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Click for TheAMCForum Rules / Click for PDF version of Forum Rules
Your donations help keep this valuable resource free and growing. Thank you.

Piston Rings

Post Reply Post Reply
Author
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andrejs Jansons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Piston Rings
    Posted: May/11/2023 at 12:48pm
Good afternoon!
I am quite new to the engine rebuilding world, and I am having some trouble selecting piston rings. I am only replacing them to fix a compression issue that I am having and am not doing a full rebuild. 

My question is this: Why is there more than one option for the inline six ring size? I am currently looking at Summit Racing and they offer three ring sizes with the application of 1965 232, which should I select? 

I appreciate any and all advice! This is my first post but I am a longtime user of the AMC forum advice.Smile
nickleone View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote nickleone Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May/11/2023 at 1:02pm
You need to know the cylinder size.
The ring sets listed are .060/.040/.020 over size from STOCK

Nick

Edited by nickleone - May/11/2023 at 1:11pm
nick
401 71 Gremlin pro rally car sold
390 V8 SX/4 pro rally car sold
1962 Classic SW T5 4 wheel disc brakes
Andrejs Jansons View Drop Down
AMC Fan
AMC Fan

Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Andrejs Jansons Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: May/11/2023 at 1:10pm
Okay! Thank you, I already have a feeler gauge and I'll have to loan a bore gauge from someone. 
nickleone View Drop Down
AMC Addicted
AMC Addicted